MINUTES

BAY-LAKE REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION FULL COMMISSION MEETING March 13, 2020 Aging and Disability Resource Center of Brown County 300 S. Adams St., Green Bay

| MEMBERS PRESENT: | Terry Brazeau, Dennis Kroll, Tom Romdenne, Dan Koski, James Falkowski, Ann Hartnell, Ed Procek, Michael Kunesh, Edwin Kelley, Karl Ballestad, Thomas Mandli, and Marc Holsen |
|------------------|--|
| MEMBERS EXCUSED: | Mary Ellen Dobbins, Mike Hotz, Larry Neuens, Rich Wolosyn and Brian Yerges |
| MEMBERS ABSENT: | Ken Fisher |
| STAFF PRESENT: | Cindy Wojtczak, Jeff Agee-Aguayo, Madison Smith, and Emily Pierquet |

- I. Chairperson Dan Koski called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.
- **II. Moved** by Ed Procek and seconded by James Falkowski to approve the agenda as written. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.
- **III. Moved** by Ann Hartnell and seconded by Terry Brazeau that the minutes of the December 13, 2019, Commission meeting be approved as written. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.
- **IV.** Chairperson Dan Koski called for any public input; none was received.

V. Communications:

- WisDOT February 15, 2020, letter to the Wisconsin Division office of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Region 5 office of the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) approving an amendment to the 2020-2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) for the Sheboygan Urbanized Area.
- 2. Madison Smith February 27, 2020, letter to Cindy Wojtczak resigning from her position as a Planner II.

Moved by Thomas Mandli and seconded by Ann Hartnell to approve and file the communications. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

1

VI. Committee Reports: Chairperson Dan Koski presented the January 31, 2020, Executive Committee meeting report. Three communications, one resolution, and three contracts were approved. The Executive Committee reviewed the Employee Handbook, and Brandon Robinson presented the Manitowoc County Green Infrastructure Code Audit.

Moved by Marc Holsen and seconded by Ed Procek that the January 31, 2020, Executive Committee Meeting Report be accepted as presented. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

- VII. Title VI and Non-Discrimination Program/Limited English Proficiency Plan: Jeffrey Agee-Aguayo asked that Commissioners participate in a brief survey to assist in completing the 2020 Update to the *Title VI and Non-Discrimination Program/Limited English Proficiency Plan.* This program is a requirement of the federal grants we receive. The program will be brought to the June Full Commission meeting for approval.
- VIII. Hazard Mitigation Plans: Madison Smith presented recent hazard mitigation plans completed by Bay-Lake RPC, and discussed the process for hazard mitigation planning, as well as the importance of these plans for our region. Ann Hartnell asked if there are proactive measures included in these plans. Madison Smith responded that most measures in the plans are in response to previous hazards, but hopefully, this will evolve to include more proactive solutions. Dan Koski asked about rescheduling meetings as the COVID-19 pandemic progresses. Jeffrey Agee-Aguayo discussed his experience working on the *Sheboygan County Hazard Mitigation Plan Update*.
- IX. Draft 2019 Annual Report: Cindy Wojtczak presented the draft 2019 Annual Report. Cindy Wojtczak discussed the financial portion that is still pending since the 2019 audit is still in progress. There was considerable discussion of the Disaster Recovery Microloan Program.
- X. Quarterly Project Report: Cindy Wojtczak reviewed the Quarterly Project Report, focusing on a few highlights from the past quarter. Jeffrey Agee-Aguayo reviewed the activities related to the Sheboygan MPO and the *Sheboygan County Hazard Mitigation Plan Update* over the past quarter.

Moved by Ed Procek and seconded by Mike Kunesh to accept and file the Quarterly Progress Report. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

XI. Bills and Receipts for January 2020 and February 2020

Cindy Wojtczak presented the January and February 2020 Bills and Receipts to the Commission.

Moved by Ann Hartnell and seconded by Ed Kelley to approve the January 2020 and February 2020 bills and receipts. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

XII. Commissioner Reports

Dan Koski announced that Ed Procek was recognized for 40 years of service to Shoreline Metro. Dan Koski also talked about a meeting he participated in regarding dealing with the COVID-19 virus. Cindy Wojtczak added that the Commission should be prepared for the same. After much discussion, it was **moved** by Ed Procek and seconded by Ann Hartnell to give the Executive Director discretion to close the office and have staff work from home should the COVID-19 virus begin to make working in the office difficult. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

Ed Procek discussed current events in Sheboygan County, including erosion and beach recession, defoliation at Amsterdam Dunes due to the Emerald Ash Borer, major road construction in the county, and the Rocky Knoll Health Care Center closing to visitors and closely monitoring staff due to COVID-19.

Thomas Mandli announced the upcoming remodeling project at the Marinette County Courthouse.

Dan Koski discussed erosion along the shoreline in Manitowoc County, and emergency repairs to the water pipeline from Manitowoc County to Brown County.

Cindy Wojtczak announced that the AWRPC Summit has been postponed.

Moved by Dan Koski and seconded by Ed Procek to accept the Commissioner reports. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

- **XIII.** Upcoming Commission meetings include the following:
 - A. The next Executive Committee meeting will be held April 24, 2020, at 10:00 a.m., at the Commission office in Green Bay.
 - B. The next full Commission meeting will be held on June 12, 2020, with the meeting location yet to be determined.
- **XIV.** Moved by Thomas Mandli and seconded by Tom Romdenne that the full Commission adjourn. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 11:58 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Emily Pierquet Recording Secretary