#### **MINUTES**

# BAY-LAKE REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION VIRTUAL FULL COMMISSION MEETING March 11, 2022

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Karl Ballestad, Terry Brazeau, Mary Ellen Dobbins, James Falkowski, Greg Grotegut, Ann Hartnell, Mike Hotz, Edwin Kelley, Dennis Kroll, Michael Kunesh, Thomas Mandli, Larry Neuens, Ed Procek, Tom Romdenne, Ryan Sorenson, and Donna Thomas
MEMBERS EXCUSED:	Dan Koski, and Rich Wolosyn
STAFF PRESENT:	Cindy Wojtczak, Jeff Agee-Aguayo, Brandon Robinson, Nicole Barbiaux, Adam Christensen, and Emily Pierquet

- I. Vice Chair Mike Hotz called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.
- **II. Moved** by Ed Procek and seconded by Larry Neuens to approve the agenda as amended. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.
- **III. Moved** by Terry Brazeau and seconded by Ann Hartnell that the minutes of the December 10, 2021, Commission meeting be approved as written. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.
- **IV.** Vice Chair Mike Hotz called for any public input; none was received.
- V. Committee Reports: Vice Chair Mike Hotz presented the January 28, 2022, Executive Committee meeting report. Four communications, one resolution, and four contracts were approved. Cindy Wojtczak gave an update on the search for a planner to fill the recently vacated Planner II position and requested authorization to hire a second Planner II if the budget allowed. Nicole Barbiaux presented a draft of the Building Maintenance Plan.

### VI. Communications:

1. WisDOT – March 2, 2022, letter to Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Federal Transit Administration (FTA) approving amendments to the 2022-2025 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) for the Sheboygan urbanized area.

**Moved** by Ann Hartnell and seconded by James Falkowski to approve and file the communications. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

1

VII. 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Celebration: Cindy Wojtczak discussed the plans for the Commission's 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Celebration. The Commission staff would like to establish a budget for the celebration and get input from the Commissioners on what they would expect so the budget can cover those parameters. Much discussion followed.

**Moved** by Larry Neuens and seconded by Terry Brazeau to defer this topic to the executive committee. Motion carried with all voting aye on a voice vote.

- VIII. Contracts: Two contracts were presented for approval.
  - 22009-08 Sheboygan County Stormwater and Outreach January 1, 2022, to January 31, 2023 \$ 3,000 fee with no match
  - 22011-08 City of Sheboygan RAISE Grant Writing for Pedestrian Bridge March 2, 2022, to May 15, 2022 \$10,000 fee with no match

**Moved** by Ed Procek and seconded by Ann Hartnell to approve the contracts as presented. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

IX. Resolution 2-2022: Jeffrey Agee-Aguayo presented Resolution 2-2022 of the Bay-Lake Regional Planning Commission approving several minor amendments to the Sheboygan Metropolitan Planning Area Transportation Improvement Program (TIP): Calendar Years 2022 – 2025.

**Moved** by Ed Procek and seconded by Larry Neuens to approve Resolution 2-2022. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

X. Draft 2021 Annual Report: Nicole Barbiaux presented the draft 2021 Annual Report. Cindy Wojtczak discussed the financial portion that is still pending since the 2021 audit is still in progress. Much discussion followed.

**Moved** by Ann Hartnell and seconded by James Falkowski to approve the 2021 annual report preliminarily and defer to the Executive Committee for final approval once the financial section is completed by the auditors. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

- XI. Florence County Land and Water Resource Management: Adam Christensen presented the Florence County Land and Water Resource Management plan. Some discussion followed.
- XII. Quarterly Project Report: Brandon Robinson reviewed the Quarterly Project Report, focusing on a few highlights from the past quarter including the Commission's outreach to nonmember communities. James Falkowski asked whether the 50% rule was based on land population or value. Brandon Robinson explained that while it is based on value, it is unclear if it can be enforced at this time as the 50% rule was used when Wisconsin's regional planning commissions were established, not necessarily for retaining or regaining membership. Donna Thomas asked about the Village of Luxemburg's recent project kickoff in relation to their 20-year plan and where they stand. Brandon Robinson confirmed that it happened in February and it was progressing.

### XIII. Bills and Receipts for January and February 2022

The Commissioners in attendance reviewed the January and February 2022 Bills and Receipts.

**Moved** by Ann Hartnell and seconded by James Falkowski to approve the January 2022 and February 2022 bills and receipts. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

# XIV. Commissioner Reports

James Falkowski discussed ARPA funding in towns and villages.

Thomas Mandli discussed updates on the rescue air boat in City of Marinette and Village of Peshtigo.

Ed Procek discussed the following activities and developments in the City of Sheboygan and Sheboygan County:

- The County's continued response to the COVID-19 pandemic
- The success of the Ryder Cup Golf Tournament
- Child Protection Services efforts to reduce out-of-home care
- Rocky Knoll Health Care Center maintains its five-star rating
- Enhancing facilities including the Rocky Knoll Health Care Center, ADRC, the Detention Center, and the Taylor House
- Highway 23 Expansion
- Sheboygan County Marsh Educational Facility
- Collaborative for American Resource Plan Act Funding
- Asphalt Replacement
- Sheboygan County's continued strong fiscal track record

- **XV.** Upcoming Commission meetings include the following:
  - A. The next Executive Committee meeting will be held April 29, 2022, at 10:00 a.m., at the Commission office in De Pere.
  - B. The next Full Commission meeting will be held on June 10, 2022, at 10:00 a.m., at the Commission office in De Pere.
- **XVI.** Moved by James Falkowski and seconded by Larry Neuens that the full Commission adjourn. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Emily Pierquet Recording Secretary