MINUTES

BAY-LAKE REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION FULL COMMISSION MEETING

September 8, 2023

Bay-Lake RPC Office, 1861 Nimitz Drive De Pere, WI

MEMBERS PRESENT: Mike Hotz, Dan Koski, Ann Hartnell, Larry Neuens, Stan Johnson,

James Falkowski, Micheal Kunesh, Thomas Mandli, Terry Brazeau,

Dennis Kroll, Karl Ballestad, Ed Procek, Ryan Sorenson

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Rich Wolosyn, Greg Grotegut and Thomas Romdenne

MEMBERS ABSENT: Ed Kelley

STAFF PRESENT: Brandon Robinson, Sydney Swan, Heena Bhatt, Raquel Orta

- I. Call to order and introductions: Chairperson Mike Hotz called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Stan Johnson was introduced as the new commissioner representing Kewaunee County.
- **II. Approval of Agenda:** Moved by Larry Neuens and seconded by Ann Hartnell to approve the agenda as written. Motion carried, with all voting age on a voice vote.
- **III. Approval of Minutes:** Moved by Terry Brazeau and seconded by Thomas Mandli that the minutes of the June 9, 2023, Commission meeting be approved as written. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.
- **IV. Public Input:** Chairperson Mike Hotz asked if there was any public input; none was received.
- V. Committee Reports: Mike Hotz reported on the July 28, 2023, Executive Committee meeting. The minutes from the May 16th meeting were approved. At this meeting, there were two communications, ten contracts, and two resolutions approved. Topics discussed included the following:
 - Survey feedback that went out in August. There were only 10 responses.
 - 2023 Indirect Rate
 - Preliminary Budget for 2024
 - Bills and Receipts for June and July 2023 were reviewed and approved; and

Moved by Ann Hartnell and seconded by Ed Procek to approve the Committee Report as presented. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

VI. Nominating Committee Report and Election of Officers for 2023-2024:

Ed Procek gave the Nominating Committee report. The Nominating Committee consists of Ed Procek, Rich Wolosyn and Thomas Mandli. "Term limit" provisions in the Commission bylaws mandated that all three officer positions have new Commissioners.

Election for Chairperson

Mike Hotz was nominated as Chairperson during the Nominating Committee meeting.

Ed Procek asked if there were any other nominations; no additional nominations were received.

Mike Hotz was elected Chairperson.

Moved by Terry Brazeau and Seconded by Ryan Sorenson to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mike Hotz. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

Election for Vice Chairperson

Dan Koski expressed his interest in retaining his position as vice-chair.

Ed Procek asked if there were any other nominations; no additional nominations were received.

Dan Koski was elected Vice Chairperson.

Moved by Dennis Kroll and Seconded by Ann Hartnell to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

Election for Secretary-Treasurer

Ann Hartnell expressed her interest in retaining her position as Secretary-Treasurer.

Ed Procek asked if there were any other nominations; no additional nominations were received.

Moved by Larry Neuens and seconded by Dan Koski to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Ann Hartnell as Secretary-Treasurer. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

Ann Hartnell was elected Secretary-Treasurer.

Ed Procek thanked Thomas Mandli and Rich Wolosyn for their service on the Nominating Committee.

VII. Committee Appointments: Newly elected Chairperson Mike Hotz appointed the following Commissioners to the Executive Committee:

Florence County: Larry Neuens

Marinette County: Ann Hartnell (Secretary-Treasurer)

Oconto County: Terry Brazeau

Sheboygan County: Mike Hotz (Chairperson) Manitowoc County: Dan Koski (Vice Chairperson)

Kewaunee County: Stan Johnson

Door County: Vacant Brown County: Vacant

Chairperson Mike Hotz reappointed Ed Procek, Rich Wolosyn, and Thomas Mandli to the Nominating Committee.

Chairperson Mike Hotz reappointed members of the Finance & Personnel Committee to another one-year term on the committee. These included Larry Neuens, Dennis Kroll, Mike Kunesh, Dan Koski, and Mike Hotz. All members accepted the appointments.

VIII. Communications: Brandon Robinson presented the following communication to the Commission.

- WisDOT Copy of a August 15, 2023, letter to the FHWA Wisconsin Division Administrator and the FTA Region Administrator approving minor amendments to the 2023 2026 TIP.
- Article from the Sheboygan Press mentioning Bay Lake Regional Planning Commission outreach efforts at the City of Sheboygan's farmer's market.

No action was taken on the communication.

- **IX. Approval of Contracts:** Brandon Robinson reviewed the following contract with Commissioners in attendance:
 - 23023-08 Village of Random Lake
 Safe Routes to School Action Plan
 \$27,271 fees with no match
 Pending
 - 2. 23024-02 Village of Sister Bay
 Outdoor Recreation Plan
 August 15, 2023, to June 30, 2024
 \$12,433 fees with no match

Moved by Terry Brazeau and seconded by Ryan Sorensen to approve the contract as presented. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

- X. Staffing Update: Brandon Robinson reported Donna Thomas resigned her position as commissioner for Kewaunee County. Mr. Robinson also reported on the status of the Planner I/II position interviews. An applicant was offered the position and was given a week to respond.
- XI. Resolution 14-2023: Heena Bhatt presented Resolution 14-2023 of the Bay-Lake Regional Planning Commission approving the Shoreline Metro Transit Asset Management (TAM) Plan: Calendar Year 2023 and approving 2023 TAM targets for Shoreline Metro.

Moved by Ryan Sorenson and seconded by Ed Procek to approve Resolution 14-2023. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

XII. 2024-2025 Work Program and 2024 Budget: Brandon Robinson presented the 2024-2025 Work Program and 2024 Budget, highlighting the commission programs, outreach efforts, the Levy Rate and budget changes. Mr. Robinson also updated the Commission of the loss of the membership from Town of Liberty Grove.

Moved by Ryan Sorenson and seconded by Ann Hartnell to approve the 2024-2025 Work Program and 2024 Budget. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

XIII. Quarterly Project Report: Sydney Swan reviewed the Quarterly Report, focusing on a few highlights from the past quarter.

XIV. Bills and Receipts: Chairperson Mike Hotz asked if there were any questions regarding the July 2023 and August 2023 Bills and Receipts; none were received.

Moved by Ryan Sorenson and seconded by Ed Procek to approve the July 2023 and August 2023 bills and receipts. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

XV. Commissioner Reports:

- Terry Brazeau, Oconto County, reported that the Dairy fest in Lena was going to take place that weekend along with other events.
- Ed Procek, Sheboygan County, reported that the county is now fully staffed. Ed thanked Heena Bhatt and the Mayor for participating in the Farmers Market. Ryan Sorenson shared the details of the boat racing event.
- **XVI.** Upcoming Commission meetings include the following:
 - A. The next meeting of the Commission's Executive Committee will be held October 27, 2023, at 10:00 a.m., at the Commission office.
 - B. The next full Commission meeting will be held on December 8, 2023, at 10:00 a.m., at the Commission office.
- **XVII. Moved** by Terry Brazeau and seconded by Karl Ballestad that the full Commission adjourn. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote. The meeting was adjourned at 11:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Raquel Orta Recording Secretary