MINUTES BAY-LAKE REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING April 28, 2017

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT: Terry Brazeau, Eric Corroy, Mike Hotz, Dan Koski, Mary Meyer, and Larry Neuens

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT: Tom Sieber and Ken Fisher

COMMITTEE MEMBERS EXCUSED: None

STAFF PRESENT: Cindy Wojtczak, Rich Malone, and Jeff Agee Aguayo

OTHERS PRESENT: Commissioner Brian Yerges and Kyle Pockat, Accountant for Schenck, SC

- I. Chairperson Mike Hotz called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.
- II. **Moved** by Eric Corroy and seconded by Larry Neuens to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.
- III. Moved by Dan Koski and seconded by Terry Brazeau that the minutes of the January 27, 2017, Executive Committee meeting be approved as written. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.
- IV. Public Input. Chairperson Mike Hotz asked if there was any public input; Jeff Agee-Aguayo presented a survey on race and Hispanic origin that was needed for a Title VI Non-Discrimination Program due in 2017. This survey will also be used to update the Commission's Affirmative Action Plan. Commissioners were asked to complete the survey and return it to Jeff prior to leaving the meeting. Commissioners not present will be mailed the survey with postage-paid return envelopes.
- V. Communications. Three communications were discussed.
 - a. WisDOT Approval of BLRPC's amendments to the 2017-2020 TIP discussed by Jeff Agee-Aguayo.
 - b. BLRPC Position Statement of Support for Adequate Brownfield Funding was discussed by Cindy Wojtczak.
 - c. ETF and League of Wisconsin Municipalities Opinion on health insurance coverage for local governments if the state moves to a self-insured model. Brian Yerges provided input on self-insurance and past experience with self-funding programs. Mr. Yerges asked to have this issue on future agendas for discussion purposes.
- VI. Chairperson Mike Hotz introduced Kyle Pockat of Schenck, the Commission's auditing firm. Mr. Pockat reviewed the Bay-Lake Regional Planning Commission's Annual Financial Report dated December 31, 2016. After explaining the reason for a single audit being required and then reviewing various statements in the audit report, Mr. Pockat stated that 2016 came in right in line with the budget. Eric Corroy asked if it would be to the

1

Commission's benefit to own a building. Kyle Pockat responded that the depreciation would be problematic, and that a build-up of cash would need to occur before that would be feasible. Overall, it was noted that the finances of the Commission are continuing to improve, as they have been in the past several years.

Moved by Larry Neuens and seconded by Dan Koski that the 2016 Bay-Lake Regional Planning Commission Annual Financial Report be approved as presented. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

- VII. Cindy Wojtczak updated the committee on the status of the Governor's appointment to represent Marinette County on the Commission. Ms. Wojtczak stated that she recently received an email from the Governor's office that included the announcement of the Governor's direct appointment of Michael T. Kunesh as the new Marinette County Commissioner. Mr. Kunesh's term will expire on October 1, 2020.
- VIII. Approval of Contracts. Ms. Wojtczak noted that several contracts throughout the past year appear as though they were not brought to the Commission for approval. A table was presented with a list of contracts in which no approval date was found. Ms. Wojtczak asked the committee to review the contracts, ask questions and then approve all of the contracts at once so they would all have an approval date.

Eric Corroy asked a question on the LUCA process and our assistance to municipalities. Mr. Corroy noted that Kewaunee County was going to assist the towns in Kewaunee County.

Moved by Mary Meyer and seconded by Larry Neuens that all listed and signed contracts be approved. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

IX. Jeff Agee-Aguayo presented minor amendments to the street and highway improvement project component of the Sheboygan Metropolitan Planning Area Transportation Improvement Program (TIP): Calendar Years 2017-2020. Jeffrey Agee-Aguayo also reviewed Resolution 7-2017 with committee members.

Moved by Terry Brazeau and seconded by Dan Koski to approve Resolution 7-2017. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

- X. Cindy Wojtczak reported that the AWRPC Annual Meeting was going to take place in Madison on June 15, 2017. Mike Hotz, as Chairperson of the Commission, asked if one of the other officers could take his place at that meeting. Dan Koski noted that he was available and that he would attend the meeting. Ms. Wojtczak noted that she would provide Mr. Koski with the information needed to attend the meeting.
- XI. Cindy Wojtczak presented the March 2017 Bills and Receipts. Ms. Wojtczak stated that the Commission still had about \$60,000 in the savings account and that overall, the Commission was looking good financially.

Moved by Eric Corroy and seconded by Mary Meyer to accept the bills and receipts as presented. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote.

XII. Commissioner reports. Eric Corroy asked about the staff workload being that there was in-kind work noted in the minutes. Ms. Wojtczak stated that the new hire, Madison Smith, would be starting on June 5, 2017, and that should free up time for other planners.

Mary Meyer mentioned that she had attended a READI workshop, and offered to give a copy of the handouts to Ms. Wojtczak. Ms. Wojtczak accepted the handouts. Eric Corroy mentioned the LUCA webinar in which he participated, and offered to provide his slides to Josh Schedler.

- XIII. The next full Commission meeting will be held at the Jack Day Environmental Education Center in Green Bay on June 9, 2017, at 10:00 a.m. The next Executive Committee meeting will be held on July 28, 2017, at a location yet to be determined.
- XIV. **Moved** by Mary Meyer and seconded by Eric Corroy that the Executive Committee adjourn. Motion carried, with all voting aye on a voice vote. The Executive Committee adjourned at 11:10 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cindy Wojtczak Recording Secretary