"A new national community investment program that connects private capital with low-income communities across America"

Opportunity Zones (OZs) are economically-distressed communities, designated by the State Governor and certified by the U.S. Department of the Treasury, in which certain types of investments may be eligible for preferential tax treatment. Known as the Opportunity Zone Program, this tax incentive is designed to spur economic development and job creation in low-income census tracts by offering investors significant federal capital gains tax advantages, both immediately and over the long term.

There are 120 designated OZs in Wisconsin, ten of which are located in the Bay-Lake region. OZs are located following counties:

  • Brown County
  • Manitowoc County 
  • Marinette County 
  • Sheboygan County
Opportunity Zones in Bay-Lake Region:
Additional Resources: 


For more information on economic development, please contact:

Sydney Swan, Economic Development Planner
Phone: (920) 448-2820, Ext. 108
Email: sswan@baylakerpc.org