TA banner 2.png Grant Program

The Bay-Lake RPC Technical Assistance Grant Program is an annual program that provides member counties and municipalities* up to forty (40) hours of free professional planning assistance. Most projects fit within the Commission's work program and fall under the categories of community planning, economic development, mapping/visualization, environmental, and transportation. Awarded technical assistance hours must be used in 2024.  

Up to three projects from throughout the Bay-Lake Region will be selected to be carried out by Commission staff at no cost. Awarded projects will be limited to a maximum of forty hours of free staff time that will be put towards the project. Projects that may take more than 40 hours to complete are eligible and the community may decide if they would like to contract with Bay-Lake RPC to complete the project. Applications are due Friday, February 16, 2024. 

Potential Projects by Category

Community Planning:  comprehensive planning, zoning and other plan implementation activities; hazard mitigation; site design; housing studies; grant seeking, writing and administration; demographic analyses/assessments

Economic Development and Housing:  housing studies; funding identification; grant writing and administration; business/industrial park planning; capital improvement plans; brownfield reuse planning

Environmental:  beach improvements, invasive species; outdoor recreation; restoration planning; urban forestry; surface water issues; grant seeking, writing and administration

Mapping and Visualization:  community specific data and software setup; official maps; plat book; one-on-one training and setup assistance; custom mapping, map updates, brochures, inventories, Story Maps, ArcGIS Online Collector inventories, graphic design

Transportation:  transit technical assistance; local road and street issues; traffic forecasts; bike & pedestrian planning; corridor planning; Safe Routes to School; grant seeking, writing and administration

How to Apply

Fill out an online application found here or you may download a fillable version and email it to bladmin@baylakerpc.org or mail it to: 

Raquel Orta
Bay-Lake Regional Planning Commission
1861 Nimitz Drive, De Pere, WI 54115

Applications are due Friday, February 16, 2024. 

If you have any questions on the program or how to submit an application, please contact Raquel Orta via email or phone at (920) 448-2820.

* Member communities include the following:

  • Villages of Allouez, Denmark, Hobart, and Wrightstown, along with the Towns of Lawrence, Pittsfield, and Scott in Brown County
  • City of Sturgeon Bay, Villages of Egg Harbor and Sister Bay, and the Towns of Burssels, Egg Harbor, Forestville, Gardner, Jacksonport, Liberty Grove, Sevastopol, Union, and Washington in Door County
  • Florence County and all municipalities
  • Kewaunee County and all municipalities
  • Manitowoc County and all municipalities
  • Marinette County and all municipalities
  • Oconto County and all municipalities
  • Sheboygan County and all municipalities