MPO Logo Option_MPO Logo.png

Sheboygan MPO

The Commission was designated the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for Sheboygan by the governor in 1982.

  • Area includes the Cities of Sheboygan and Sheboygan Falls, the Villages of Kohler and Howards Grove, the Town of Sheboygan and portions of the Towns of Herman, Lima, Mosel, Sheboygan Falls and Wilson
  • Projects include traffic forecasts, surveys, transit system plans, and long and short range multimodal transportation plans and programs, as well as transportation air quality conformity analysis.
  • Transportation modeling supports MPO transportation planning activities.

The Commission continues urban transportation planning activities as the MPO for the Sheboygan Metropolitan Planning Area, with the assistance of local technical and policy advisory committees. Transportation planning is required of metropolitan planning areas as a prerequisite to receiving federal funding for transportation projects. The MPO program is funded by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), WisDOT, Sheboygan County (local match for non-transit planning activities), and the Sheboygan Parking and Transit Utility (local match for transit planning activities).


For more information, please contact:
Heena Bhatt, Transportation Planner
Phone:  (920) 448-2820, Ext. 107